skip navigation

Athletics Staff Directory

Office Information

Location: McDonough Sports Complex, Room 219
Phone: (518) 629-7328
Fax: (518) 629-4855
Email: athletics@hvcc.edu

To better serve you, we recommend that student-athletes contact their designated coach for an appointment prior to coming for a campus visit to meet with him/her. 
Select the appropriate coach below to view contact information.

Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Justin Hoyt
Director of Athletics
(518) 629-7328 j.hoyt@hvcc.edu
Adam Sopris
Assistant Director of Athletics/Sports Information Director
(518) 629-7898 a.sopris@hvcc.edu
Christina Kelly
Supervisor of Athletic Programs
(518) 629-7327 c.kelly@hvcc.edu
Tim Wilson
Assistant Director of Athletic Programs
(518) 629-7815 t.wilson@hvcc.edu
Stephanie Clarke
Athletic Department Office Coordinator
(518) 629-7328 s.clarke@hvcc.edu

Sports Medicine

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Keith Thomas
Certified Athletic Trainer
(518) 629-7373 k.thomas@hvcc.edu
Andrew Gerdeman, M.D.
Team Physician
Capital Region Orthopedics

Baseball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Joe Altieri
Interim Head Coach
j.altieri@hvcc.edu
Zach Breen
Interim Assistant Coach
John Ripepi Jr.
Interim Assistant Coach
j.ripepijr@hvcc.edu

Football

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Don Jones
Head Coach
518-629-7196 d.jones@hvcc.edu
Joe Dana
Offensive Coordinator
j.dana@hvcc.ed
Jesse Fulger
Defensive Line Coach
j.fulger@hvcc.edu
Don Hogan
Outside Backers
d.hogan@hvcc.edu
Brian Lewis
Wide Receivers Coach
b.lewis2@hvcc.edu
Bemi Otulaja
Running Backs/Run Game Coordinator
o.otulaja@hvcc.edu
Robert VanHoesen
Inside Backers
r.vanhoesen@hvcc.edu
Travis Wood
Defensive Backs Coach
t.wood@hvcc.edu

Men's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mike Long
Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 m.long@hvcc.edu
Ed Pierce
Assistant Coach
Phil Sellers
Assistant Coach
Robert Piano
Assistant Coach
r.piano@hvcc.edu
Jordan Shannon
Student Manager

Men's Bowling

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Joe Prest
Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 j.prest@hvcc.edu
Catherine Bell
Assistant Coach
c.bell@hvcc.edu

Men's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Alyssa Ruggiero
Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 a.ruggiero@hvcc.edu
Daniel Honovic
Assistant Coach
d.honovic@hvcc.edu

Men's Lacrosse

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Matt Johnson
Head Coach
(518) 894-6269 m.johnson1@hvcc.edu
Christopher Joyce
Assistant Coach
c.joyce@hvcc.edu
Alexander Linder
Assistant Coach
a.linder@hvcc.edu

Men's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail

Men's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jeffrey York
Track and Field Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 j.york@hvcc.edu
James Bowles
Assistant Coach
(518) 275-7028 j.bowles@hvcc.edu
Katherine Gabriele
Assistant Coach
k.gabriele@hvcc.edu
Ricky Parker
Assistant Coach
r.parker@hvcc.edu
Erik Smith
Assistant Coach
e.smith@hvcc.edu

Men's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Sarah Popovics
Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 s.popovics@hvcc.edu
James Bowles
Assistant Coach
(518) 275-7028 j.bowles@hvcc.edu

Softball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
George Rafferty
Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 g.rafferty@hvcc.edu
Courtney Brinkman
Assistant Coach
c.brinkman@hvcc.edu
Richard Tedisco
Assistant Coach
r.tedisco@hvcc.edu

Women's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Robert Coleman
Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 r.coleman@hvcc.edu
Jacquelin Hotaling
Assistant Coach
j.hotaling1@hvcc.edu
Madisyn O'Neil
Student Manager

Women's Bowling

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Joe Prest
Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 j.prest@hvcc.edu
Catherine Bell
Assistant Coach
c.bell@hvcc.edu

Women's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Alyssa Ruggiero
Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 a.ruggiero@hvcc.edu
Daniel Honovic
Assistant Coach
d.honovic@hvcc.edu

Women's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jay Pokines
Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 j.pokines@hvcc.edu
Samantha Shanahan
Assistant Coach
s.shanahan@hvcc.edu

Women's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Denise Potenza (518) 629-7328 d.potenza@hvcc.edu

Women's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jeffrey York
Track and Field Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 j.york@hvcc.edu
James Bowles
Assistant Coach
(518) 275-7028 j.bowles@hvcc.edu
Katherine Gabriele
Assistant Coach
k.gabriele@hvcc.edu
Ricky Parker
Assistant Coach
r.parker@hvcc.edu
Erik Smith
Assistant Coach
e.smith@hvcc.edu

Women's Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kelsey Wilson
Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 k.wilson@hvcc.edu
Mollee Barone
Assistant Coach
m.barone@hvcc.edu

Women's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Sarah Popovics
Head Coach
(518) 629-7328 s.popovics@hvcc.edu
James Bowles
Assistant Coach
(518) 275-7028 j.bowles@hvcc.edu